The Albany Prize

America's Most Distinguished Prize in Medicine

Albany Prize logoThe Albany Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research is one of the largest awards in medicine and science in the United States. The $500,000 prize has been awarded annually since 2001 for exceptional work in medicine and biomedical research. It was established by the late Morris “Marty” Silverman, a businessman from Troy, N.Y., to honor scientists whose work has translated from “the bench to the bedside” resulting in better outcomes for patients.

A $50 million gift commitment from the Marty and Dorothy Silverman Foundation to Albany Medical Center provides for the prize to be awarded annually for 100 years.

Recipients, who have included Anthony Fauci, MD, former director of the National Institutes of Health, and CRISPR pioneers Emmanuelle Charpentier, PhD, and Jennifer Doudna, PhD, demonstrated significant outcomes that offer medical value of national or international importance.