• Prestigious Albany Med Prize in Medicine Awarded

    The 2015 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research was officially awarded to Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D., and Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, Ph.D. during the annual Prize ceremony.

    Learn More
  • Prize Pays Tribute To Marty Silverman's Vision

    The Troy native founded and endowed the award in 2000 to celebrate his pride in Albany Medical Center and recognize pioneers in medicine and biomedical research.

  • Learn More
  • Learn More

The Albany Med Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research is awarded to a physician, scientist or group, whose work has led to significant advances in health care and scientific research with demonstrated translational benefits for improved patient care. Its purpose is to encourage and recognize extraordinary and sustained contributions to improving health care and promoting innovative biomedical research.

The Albany Prize is open to anyone. To be considered, a candidate must be nominated by a peer. Nominations are reviewed by a large screening committee, which recommends finalists to the Albany Prize National Selection Committee. The submission deadline for the 2016 Albany Prize has been extended to April 1, 2016.   


Submit Nominations

Submit Nomination Online                                                                  

Download and send in a PDF nomination form or use the online nomination system.

Nomination Form  Nomination Instructions

2015 Prize Winners                                       

Two professors honored for landmark discoveries.

2015 Prize Recipients                                   

Karl Deisseroth, MD, PhD

Xiaoliang Xie, PhD

Albany Prize History


The Albany Prize is one of the largest awards in medicine and science in the United States. Three Nobel Prize winners have been among the ranks of researchers honored. In total, 21 world-renowned investigators have been recipients of this most prestigious award.


Past Prize Recipients

News About Our Recipients