Albany Area and Environment

Local entertainment listings, classified ads

Albany Visitors Bureau                          http://www.albany.org/
Daily Gazette                                         http://www.dailygazette.com/
New York State tourism                         http://www.iloveny.com/
Times Union                                          http://www.timesunion.com/

 

TheatersHappy & Sad masks

Capital Repertory Theater                     http://www.capitalrep.org/
The Egg Center for Performing Arts      http://www.theegg.org/
Independent movie theater        http://albany.citysearch.com/profile/11273751/
Proctor’s                                                 http://www.proctors.org/
Palace Theater                                       http://www.palacealbany.com/
Park Playhouse                                      http://www.parkplayhouse.com/
Saratoga Performing Arts Center           http://www.spac.org/
Tanglewood                                            http://www.tanglewood.org
Times Union Center                               
http://timesunioncenter-albany.com/
Troy Savings Bank Music Hall               http://www.troymusichall.org/


MuseumsMuseum photo

Adirondack Museum                              http://www.adkmuseum.org/
Albany Institute of History and Art    http://www.albanyinstitute.org/
Clark Art Institute                                   http://www.clarkart.edu/
Hyde Collection                                      http://www.hydecollection.org
New York State Museum                      
http://www.nysm.nysed.gov/
Hancock Shaker Village                     http://www.hancockshakervillage.org/
Olana                                                      http://www.olana.org/


Recreation

Adirondacks                                            http://www.adirondacks.com/
                                                                http://visitadirondacks.com/
Adirondack Mountain Club                      http://www.adk.org/Fall scene
Appalachian Mountain Club (see Mohawk-Hudson Chapter)
                                                               
http://www.outdoors.org/
Catamount                                              http://www.catamountski.com/
Cross-country skiing                               http://www.snowcountry.com/
Gore Mountain                                        http://www.goremountain.com/
Hudson-Mohawk Bike Trail                    http://www.mhbht.org/
Hudson River Watertrail Association     http://www.hrwa.org/
Jiminy Peak                                            http://jiminypeak.com/
Long Path                                               http://www.nynjtc.org/region/long-path
Pine Bush                                              
http://www.albanypinebush.org/
Taconic Crest Trail                       http://www.berkshirehiking.com/hikes/taconic_crest.html
Thatcher Park                                         http://nysparks.state.ny.us/parks/info.asp?parkID=125


Family

Adirondack Museum                              http://www.adkmuseum.org/
Berkshire Museum                                 http://www.berkshiremuseum.org/
Five Rivers Environmental Center         http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/1835.html
Great Escape                                         http://www.sixflags.com/greatEscape/index.aspx
Hancock Shaker Village                         http://www.hancockshakervillage.org/
Indian Ladder Farms                              http://www.indianladderfarms.com/
Lake George                                          http://www.lakegeorge.com/
Thatcher Park                                        http://nysparks.state.ny.us/parks/info.asp?parkID=125
The Wild Center                                     http://www.wildcenter.org/


Specialty Foodsfood photo

Honest Weight Food Co-op                   http://www.hwfc.com/
Troy Farmers Market                             http://www.troymarket.org/


Area Colleges

Albany College of Law                           http://www.albanylaw.edu/AMC Pillars
Albany College of Pharmacy & HS        http://www.acphs.edu/
Bard College                                          http://www.bard.edu/
Bennington College                               http://www.bennington.edu/
College of St. Rose                               http://www.strose.edu/
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute           http://www.rpi.edu/
Sage Colleges                                       http://www.sage.edu/
Siena College                                        http://www.siena.edu/
Skidmore College                                  http://www.skidmore.edu/
Union College                                        http://www.union.edu/
University at Albany                               http://www.albany.edu/
Wadsworth Center, School of Public Health      http://www.wadsworth.org/


Nearby Cities

Boston (~ 170 miles)                             http://www.bostonusa.com/visitor/visitor.php
Montreal (~ 225 miles)                          http://www.montreal.com/index.html
New York City (~ 150 miles)                 http://www.nycvisit.com/