Home | Directions | Find a Job | News | Lifeline | Video | Choose a Department
  • Esteemed Cell Biologist Receives 2014 Albany Prize

    Caltech's Dr. Alexander Varshavsky's discoveries underlie one of the most promising avenues for the development of new drugs to treat cancer, autoimmune disorders, and more.

    Learn More
  • Prize Pays Tribute To Marty Silverman's Vision

    The Troy native founded and endowed the award in 2000 to celebrate his pride in Albany Medical Center and recognize pioneers in medicine and biomedical research.

    Learn More

Albany Medical Center Prize

The Albany Med Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research is awarded to a physician, scientist or group, whose work has led to significant advances in health care and scientific research with demonstrated translational benefits for improved patient care. Its purpose is to encourage and recognize extraordinary and sustained contributions to improving health care and promoting innovative biomedical research.


Tribute to Marty Silverman Albany Prize Winners Albany Prize Criteria Contact Us

Call for Nominations

The Albany Prize is open to anyone. To be considered, you must be nominated by a peer. Your nomination is then reviewed by a large screening committee. That committee recommends finalists to the Albany Prize selection committee, which reviews all applicable materials before making a decision on the winner or winners of the Prize. Submission deadline for each year is typically in early December of the previous year.

2015 Nomination Forms Coming Soon







2014 Albany Prize Winner

Esteemed cell biologist honored for landmark discoveries.

2014 Prize Recipient

Alexander Varshavsky, PhD

Albany Prize History

The Albany Prize is one of the largest awards in medicine and science in the United States. Three Nobel Prize winners have been among the ranks of researchers honored. In total, 21 world-renowned investigators have been recipients of this most prestigious award.

Past Prize Recipients

News About Our Recipients