Home | Directions | Find a Job | News | Give Now | Video | Choose a Department | EmUrgentCare

Albany Medical Center Prize


Ralph Steinman, MDRalph Steinman, MD, a 2011 Nobel Laureate, was the Henry G. Kunkel Professor in Rockefeller University’s Laboratory of Cellular Physiology and Immunology at the time of his Albany Prize honor. He is world-renowned for his discovery and subsequent studies of the dendritic cell, the immune system’s central regulator.



Charles Dinarello, MDCharles Dinarello, MD, professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine, is considered a founding father of cytokine biology, and his studies have focused on the immune system’s inflammatory reactions.



Bruce Beutler, MDBruce Beutler, MD, a 2011 Nobel Laureate, was a professor and chairman of the Department of Genetics at Scripps Research Institute at the time of his Albany Prize honor. He is famous for his research on several immune system proteins involved in sensing bacteria and viruses, and his subsequent development of therapies for patients.



Read the 2009 Press Release